north america continent, North America is a continent located entirely within the Northern Hemisphere and almost all within the Western Hemisphere. It can also be described as a northern subcontinent of the Americas. It is bordered to the north by the Arctic Ocean, to the east by the Atlantic Ocean, to the southeast by South America and to the west and southwest by the Pacific Ocean. North America covers an area of about 24,709,000 square kilometers (9,540,000 square miles), about 4.8% of the planet's surface or about 16.5% of its land area. As of 2015, its population was estimated at about 565 million people in 23 independent states, or about 7.5% of the world's population if nearby island countries (Greenland, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Bermuda) are included

See More: